Your Argument Is Irrelevant

There has been much talk lately about queers being able to “marry” legally.  Well they can’t, but that’s more because words have meaning than because it’s illegal.  But that’s not my point just here.

One of the common arguments I’ve heard from people either ambivalent or in favor of “gay marriage” goes along the lines of

“If a loving gay couple decides to get married in some other State, how does that affect your life?”

Allow me to state for the record that this is one of the stupidest arguments ever, and is beside any sort of useful point in the debate*.

Let me rephrase the argument slightly, to illustrate the absurdity by being absurd.  I will have to do this several times with varying degrees of appropriateness to the analogy, but an astute reader will grasp the point.  The mentally dull reader will be offended at comparing ‘gay marriage’ to (fill in the blank) which I am not doing – but try telling that to a brick wall-brained modern fool.

  • If some guy has sex with a chicken, how does that affect your life?
  • If five women want to marry the same man, how does that affect your life?
  • If a thief robs a Chevron store, how does that affect your life?
  • If a man rapes a woman in another state, how does that affect your life?
  • If a woman drowns her five children, how does that affect your life?

Obviously, then the only reason you don’t want those things to happen is that you’re a h8tr.  Hatehatehate that’s all you can do.  You want to squash the happiness of that man and his chicken, that’s the only possible objection you could have to his enjoyment of his preferred sexual activity!

This is about the same level of argument as ‘you only hate obama cause he black’ when discussing current national economic policy.

********

*and yes, it does affect my life. Whether you know it or not, the science says they damage their own bodies, costing the taxpayer-funded health care system more, costing me more tax dollars.  If it’s not the taxpayers paying their medical bills it’s the insurance company – which drives up my premiums, costing me money I would rather use to feed-and-clothe my children.  The more important thing is they add to the moral degeneracy of my society regardless of what they, or you, think on that point.  Breaking down my culture does affect my life.  In fact, I am harmed.  Harmed and offended.  So there!

Leave a comment