Wifey is Sick :(

I am trying to get her seen by a doctor straight away but it’s government healthcare and the wheels turn slow.  She’s had tummy troubles and is super tired, and getting dehydrated.  Christians, please pray for her.

Update:

Thanks God, they usually don’t see walk-in patients quickly at this clinic, but the dorctor’s nurse may not have liked my questions about deteriorating condition over the phone.  She slipped DW into a triage room and poked her with a stick, then called the doctor.  He poked her with a stick and called the paramedics.  They poked her with a stick and took her to hospital.  They’ve been poking her with sticks since then, including fun with expensive imaging equipment.  She’s currently an admitted patient in a motorized bed in a private room, hopefully recovering in her sleep right now.

I’ve just got done wiping down the commonly-touched surfaces in the house with bleach water, and tomorrow my project is wiping down the rest of the house and laundering stuff a possibly-sick-with-a-norovirus lady touched or coughed on.  So, basically the whole house needs to be swimming in bleach.

Do you want to play clean house with me?

Update: Friday Night

They have put her on liquids vs. a nothing diet, and she says it’s helping.  Her fever is gone and other symptoms are going down . . . but she’s still there.

Update: Saturnday Night

She has been found to have been hostess to a host of C. Jejuni and the justincase antibiotics were switched to a more specific antibiotic regimen.  She has to go the full course with that, and a worrisome potassium level has to be back to normal before she can go home again.  Other symptoms continue to decrease, and most of the time she is back to her normal self again.  The sickness can range from 1 to 10 days and the doctor said 3 to 5 is normal range, so it is to be hoped she will be well enough to go home just any old day now.

Those of our church people who have been voluntarily watching (and feeding) our many children while I go visit my wife in hospital have been a tremendous blessing as well as a gentle SOHK lesson in humility.

Amusing anecdote: she had fever and chills for a while, and it is easy for me not to empathize with chills in a febrile patient.  The other day when she was not here, and therefore unable to grab me a towel, I got a dose of that too.  Our boys are three furnaces in a small room, so we keep the house pretty cool at night to let them sleep comfortably.  I couldn’t see my white towel on my stack of white pajamas on the almost-white restroom counter without my specs, so I took myself through the cold house, dripping wet, to get a fresh towel from the clothes dryer.  Shivering violently by the time I got back to the shower, I felt a lot worse for DW’s chills than I had when she was shivering for no good reason!

Update Sunday Night:

She’s home!  The fun joke is that her paperwork says she can return to full normal activities immediately.  Yeah, if by immediately you mean a couple more days of not doing much of anything but eat, sleep, and build strength back up.  She’s home anyway thank God.  Thanks to those who prayed also.  You can never know if God was going to let something be, or if he was going to intervene anyway . . . but I was reminded of the widow who got her way with the judge in the Bible “because of her importunity!”

Leave a Reply

