Never. Next Question?

The comments will be all over the map at /. as usual.  But the headline is all it took to get me riled up.

“When should cops be allowed to take control of self-driving cars?”

Never.  But never.  Self-driving cars, you can argue, are a good idea for most of the people currently halfassing their way through the morning commute.  But given the desire of those in power to grasp for more power, I’ll take the never on this one.

Of course, I’m also a fan of cars having zero ability to communicate with anything else, unless you physically plug something into the car.  That’s all I need is some hacker figuring out how to crash my steer-, brake- and throttle-by-wire car and make it look like an accident.  Me, I’ll take my throttle cable.

Leave a Reply

