This Could Be Interesting

The parliament in Catalonia has voted to break away from Spain. Catalonia really is like a while ‘nuther country anyway. Spain, of course, is one of the formerly-great nations that was an actual Empire in its day and it tended to lose parts of itself in bloody – and expensive – ways.

But Spain is broke as a joke and their government isn’t quite as secure as one might hope for. I wonder what sort of military response they might mount. I wonder if the illegitimi at the UN would recognize an independent Cataluña. I wonder if the Catalan people in France might start getting ideas too.  I wonder if it starts WWIII, and I wonder if it all amounts to so much hot air.

We live in interesting times, my friends.

Leave a Reply

